Canada-Complaints.com » Health & Medicine » Complaint / review: World Health Club - WHC World Health: Free 2 weeks, unlawful cancellation fees | #25236

World Health Club
WHC World Health: "Free" 2 weeks, unlawful "cancellation" fees

Do not, under any circumstances, deal with this company or its affiliates. Ignore any and all "Free" offers or advertisements citing "No Contracts". Refuse any attempts to gather your personal information for any offers or contest entries.

In July 2010 I was contacted by World Health Club advising I had won a "free two weeks" draw via ballot boxes scattered across the city. On arrival at the facility I was asked to sign paperwork authorizing personal access to the facilities and set up with a personal trainer. When asked about the paperwork (see: contract) I was informed it was a requirement for "legal purposes" and in case of emergency/insurance coverage.

After four sessions of a planned twenty four used I cordially terminated my agreement with WHC citing the lack of professionalism from my trainer and facility staff; I would later discover the trainer provided was terminated by the facility and another team member was not offered to continue my "obligations".

Fast forward to November 2010 where I was contacted by WHC regarding a concern with my "account". According to records I was in arrears from the period of Sept 2 2010 to November 2 2010 inclusive for bi-weekly membership dues and personal training sessions. WHC was again informed in writing and via telephone of the cancellation; I was informed it would be "no problem" to reverse the charges and heard nothing more...

until January 2010. I was contacted by "International Fitness Holdings" citing the same arrears and an increase in monies owed since last contact. Multiple phone calls and emails were exchanged with "International Fitness Holdings" with a final agreement to resolve the issue as follows:

Four sessions of personal training at $53.55 each with a total of $214.20 owed
Fourteen charges at $30.45 bi-weekly for personal dues covering the time period Sep 2 2010 to May 5 2011, to allow sufficient time for yet-another-written-cancellation notice to processed with a total owed of $352.80

The total agreed upon amount to "resolve the issue and close the case was set at $567.00

It is now March 2010 and I have received yet another phone call; the total owed is in excess of $1200.00. "IFH"claims I need to fulfill the remaining personal training sessions and member dues until the end of the contract, plus a "early termination fee" of $150.00; this "fee" was raised as a concern in previous interactions citing the "Personal Training Agreement Terms and Conditions"; nowhere on the reverse side are any cancellation fees noted whatsoever. Charing this amount is unlawful and outright illegal. IFH representatives have repeatedly referred me to "Section 10.1"; the conditions cited in "Section 10" discuss the Use of Facilities and the obligations required of WHC; there is no mention of fees of any kind in this section.

Do not, under any circumstances, deal with this company or its affiliates. Ignore any and all "Free" offers or advertisements citing "No Contracts". Refuse any attempts to gather your personal information for any offers or contest entries.

Date:

Company: World Health Club

Country: Canada   Province: Alberta   City: Calgary
Address: 4604 37 Street Southwest
Phone: 4032782499
Site:

Category: Health & Medicine

0 comments

Information
Only registered users can leave comments.
Please Register on our website, it will take a few seconds.




Quick Registration via social networks:
Login with FacebookLogin with Google+