» » Savingcity - Rip off will not refund for returned merchandise | #17901

Complaint / review / scam report
Savingcity
Rip off will not refund for returned merchandise

Www.savingcity.net - web site claimed although DVD's were manufactured in another country they were region free and guaranteed to play on any DVD player. I e-mailed Saving City (Customer Service) asking for verification of no region and if DVD's could be returned if there was a problem. Customer Service reiterated what web site stated and stated items could be returned for an exchange or refund if there was a problem.

11/22/06: ordered Friends Season 1-10 and 24 Season 5 DVD box set for Christmas gifts. Credit card charged $168.92 on this day.

11/23/06: DVD's shipped from China

12/02/06: received DVD's

12/26/06: Friends DVD did not work in several DVD players: One DVD player displayed a message - 'area limitations insert disc" and another DVD player disc played, however, picture was black/white and horizontally skipped. I checked the savingcity web site for return address and found that there was none, instructions were to contact Customer Service for return address.
I notified Saving City (via e-mail) of issue with DVD's.

12/27/06: received e-mail from Customer Service (Helen) indicating that UNOPENED DVD's needed to be mailed back to China would be exchanged or refunded once DVD's were received
Long Tujin c/o SavingCity
Room 2116, Bldg A
Movie Building
2 Guiyuan Rd
Luohu District
Shenzhen, Guangdong 518000
China

12/27/06: responded to Customer Service that Friends DVD was opened and did not work. I expressed that Saving City misrepresented itself by stating 'DVD's all region free and guaranteed to play in any DVD player'. I also believe there was misrepresentation by not stating that any returns had to be mailed back to a place other than Canada (Saving City location).

12/30/06: response from Customer Service (Helen) apologizing for problem with DVD's and reiterated to mail DVD's back to China via economy mail. They stated that an exchange or refund would be given once they received the merchandise and that they would pay for return postage

1/2/07: I e-mailed Customer Service indicating the earliest DVD's could be mailed is 1/4 and I requested that since I was charged before the items were even shipped I would like my refund immediately.

1/4/07: I e-mailed Customer Service indicating I have not received a response to my 1/2 e-mail and that I mailed the DVD's to the address they supplied in China. I stated that I mailed the DVD's Global certified instead of economy because economy would take 4-6 weeks (I was informed it would be more like 2-3 months) and that there was no way of knowing whether they got there or not. The difference in prices was $10. Economy would cost $31.50, Global was $41.50. I reiterated once again that I would like my refund immediately.

1/6/07: Customer Service (Helen) responded apologizing for the late response and indicated I would be refunded once they received the DVD's.

1/18/07: I e-mailed Customer Service indicating I mailed the DVD's and asked whether they have received them.

1/19/07: Customer Service (Janet) responded indicating they would notify me when they received them.

1/22/07: I e-mailed Customer Service indicating I checked with International Customs and I was informed that the DVD's were delivered on 1/17/07 at 5:00 p.m. and that I wanted my refund since they received them.

1/23/07: Customer Service (Janet) apologized for the delay in getting back to me because of the busy Holiday season and indicated that their Accounting Department would refund me 'this week' and to allow a few days for the refund to show on my credit card.

2/1/07: I e-mailed Customer Service indicating I still have not received my credit.

2/3/07: Account Department (Lisa) responded apologizing for the delay and indicated that the Account Dept would refund me 'early next week'

2/6/07: I e-mailed Customer Service/Account Dept. indicating I had not received my refund.

2/9/07: I have sent several more e-mails indicating that I have not yet received my refund. I have not heard from Customer Service/Account Department since 2/3/07.

On 1/8/07 I filed a complaint with the Canadian BBB. They sent two notices to Saving City neither of which were answered by Saving City.

Kate
Somerville, New Jersey
U.S.A.
Author: Contact with Author

Offender: Savingcity

Country: Canada   Province: Ontario   City: Toronto
Address: PO Box 41536
Phone: 4162974954

Category: Education & Science

0 comments

Information
Members, of group Guest, can not leave comments on this publication.
Please register on our website, it will take a few seconds.