» » Shellco Credit Systems - Using threats to get money | #18539

Complaint / review / scam report
Shellco Credit Systems
Using threats to get money

On June 19, 2007 I received a phonecall, actually a message, to call {name withheld} about an urgent business matter. Seeing as I was having difficulties ironing out my mortgage details I was worried and called them back. No company name had been left on the message and when I called back the automated voice was so quick that I didn't catch the name. Stupid me, I left a message for them to call me back.

On June 20, I received a call from {name withheld} who informed me that thay were from Shellco Credit Systems and were calling about monies owing to a place I had rented, and vacated in September 2004, and apparently broken my lease, although the landlord made no indication of that when I gave notice and left. I informed the caller that this was the first I had heard about it (which personally I found strange because I hade left a forwarding address and phone number with the complex manager).

This person proceeded to tell me that "my account" was past due, and if not paid withing 3 days would go on my credit report. They were going to give me a bank account number of the CIBC, and expected me to go immediately to deposit the money. Yeah, like that was going to happen. It was 4:30pm, and I was going to run out and give money to someone who called me on the phone. I may be gullible (because I took the call in the first place) but I'm not stupid. I told {name withheld} that I couldn't do anything until July 4, 2007 because that's when I would get paid. They said that I had to pay within 3 days or it would go on my credit report. I told her to send the information and I would make arrangements for payment. I was told that information had been sent and "didn't I get it yet" and again was told to provide payment in full within 3 days or it would go on my credit report, payment plans were not an option. They told me to use my credit line (shows what they know, I had consolidated and gotten rid of it in May 2007 because I couldn't afford the bills), or a credit card. I told them that I didn't have the credit line anymore and wished them luck getting blood from a stone, and hung up the phone.

On June 21, 2007 I received my first corresponce from Shellco Credit Systems, dated June 19, 2007. It was a note indicating how much they wanted me to pay, where I could pay and that "to protect my credit rating" I had to "remit the balance of my account or contact the office within 3 days". Also on my answering machine was a message, from a different Shellco employee) that went like this, "I suggest you get back to me Pamela, regarding this issue, to resolve it. Call me back at 866-739-9893 and quote account number {number withheld}, or we're gonna have to register this debt onto your personal credit file, and have your creditors informed of that. And I'm sure GMAC, who is a client of ours wouldn't be to happy about that, as well as CITI financial, MBNA, and so on, and so forth"

I took this call as a threat that my creditors would be notified and the implecation was that my current creditors would perhaps withdraw their credit arrangements (I felt this way because of the tone of {name withheld} voice). I immediately called {name withheld} and told them that I do not appreciate being threatened. An argument insued and I asked to speak to their supervisor. I was transfered to {name withheld}, who was the person I spoke to on June 20. Most of the call was just a regurgitation of what was said on June 20. I indicated that I didn't appreciate being threatened, and was told that Shellco would put this on my credit file if it was not paid in full within 3 days. I told {name withheld} that I didn't even know if they were calling from a legitimate business, and until I got the documents I requested I would not be making any sort of payment, and ended the call.

On June 25, 2007 I received the documents I had requested, and (surprise, surprise) another phone message from {name withheld} from Shellco Credit Systems.

Today is June 26, 2007 and I am making arrangements to make payment. I'm sure many more phonecalls and threats will come before I'm done.

Pamela
Innisfil, Ontario
Canada
Author: Contact with Author

Offender: Shellco Credit Systems

Country: Canada   Province: Ontario   City: Concord
Address: 2180 Steeles Ave. W, Suite #221
Phone: 4167396500

Category: Business & Finance

0 comments

Information
Members, of group Guest, can not leave comments on this publication.
Please register on our website, it will take a few seconds.